Posted by: Alicia Phillips | October 1, 2013

29 Months and 7 Countries Later….

I’m coming home!

excited

And I’m coming home a much different person now than I was when I left in May 2011. My time in Fiji made me grow up, learn how to take care of myself, it made me realize I am stronger than I ever thought I was and capable of doing things I wouldnt have ever imagined myself doing. I found direction while I was there, discovered what I’m passionate about and what I want to do with my life. It was two years full of learning lessons and self improvement. And the friendships I made there are the kind that will last my lifetime.

And my time backpacking around Australia and SE Asia was life changing. I feel like a different person now that I was when I left Fiji! I learned things about the world and about myself that I never knew. It made me ask questions about why things are the way they are and I found out where I stand on issues and what my values are.

Joining the Peace Corps was the best thing I have ever done. It did a lot of things for me, but most importantly it opened up the world to me. If I hadn’t done Peace Corps, I never in a million years would have backpacked solo around Asia.  And if I hadn’t of done that, I wouldn’t have realized that it’s not a big bad scary world out there. It’s beautiful and full of amazing things and interesting people.

I’m fairly certain now that I wont be able to stay in the US for long. As soon as I am done getting my masters, I would like to live and work internationally again.

However, I can say that I am so excited to come home! So much has happened since I’ve been gone. I have a little neice and nephew that I’ve never met! My sister moved halfway across the world, my brother was deployed and has already come back! People getting married, people getting divorces. Life definitly went on without me. But, lets be serious….this is what I am most excited about:

mc-random-75

I’m not sure if I will keep up with this blog anymore……what else can I write about? Maybe one more post about how amazing America is or how difficult readjustment is. Who knows. Thank you for sharing in my adventures with me!

Responses

  1. Hi!
    Welcome back to the US! I’m an RPCV (Madagascar ’09-’11) and planning a trip to Fiji and Vanuatu. I’ve already got some set plans in Vanuatu but would greatly appreciate some advice on Fiji. If you have time, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

    Alison
    alisonthieme@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

