Posted by: Alicia Phillips | August 13, 2013

Three Countries in One Day!!

In my last post (Four Nights in Bangkok) I wrote about my visa dilemma. Since I came into Thailand by land via train I was only granted a 15 day tourist visa, as opposed to a 30 day tourist visa I would have gotten if I had flown. Big bummer.

But, not that big of a deal really, there are a ton of people in the same boat as me. While I was visiting the northern city of Chaing Mai I booked a Visa run to Myanmar (aka Burma) through a local touring company. They make a whole day of it. They pick you up at 7am from your hostel, take you to a few touristy spots including a hot spring and the white temple of Chiang Rai.

The White Temple

The White Temple

Then we headed up to the Golden Triangle. This is where Thailand, Laos, and Burma all meet. They took us on a boat ride where we got to see all three countries.

DSCN3812

We stopped over in Laos for a couple of hours and got some lunch.

DSCN3822

 

The boat we did our golden triangle tour on

The boat we did our golden triangle tour on. Laos is on the other side of the river!

Poor fishing village

Poor fishing village

Then I did my visa run to Burma. Pretty simple procedure really. I go through Thailand immigration, officially exit, get stamped out and everything. Then walk about 100 yards to the Burma border, officially enter Burma, get stamped in, then immediately turn around and exit Burma, get stamped out, and walk the 100 yards back to Thailand. Once again I go through Thailand immigration, get stamped in and receive another 15 day tourist visa. And done! Easy Peasy!

Not my photo but where I did my Visa run!

This ensures that I have another 15 days to explore Thailand!  And I got another 2 countries stamped in my passport! Score!

Responses

  1. Well done!

  2. Which tour company did you use? We are going to Thailand in a month and want to do this exact trip from Chiang Mai but I can’t seem to find a company that allows for a stop in Laos and crossing into Burma.

    • I just booked the tour at my hotel. There are A TON. Every hotel and tour shop in town offers them. When you book it its the chaing rai golden triangle tour. Then you tell your tour guide you need to do a visa run and they’ll drop you off. These tours run everyday and there are numerous companies that offer them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

