Posted by: Alicia Phillips | August 6, 2013

Four Nights in Bangkok

Four nights in Bangkok! What an amazing city! As I mentioned in my last post (See: My Malaysian Invasion) I took the overnight train from Penang to Bangkok. This was a fun experience because #1- You start off with a seat and then around 8PM a man comes around and converts your seat to a bed! #2- I met some really amazing people on it. Other backpackers who gave me some great advice on what to see and do during the rest of my travels and #3- It was only $40!  There was also a few downers to taking the train: #1- It took 23 hours to get there! and #2- I only got a 15 day Visa! If I would have flown into Bangkok I would have gotten a 30 day visa, but since I came overland….15. Which kinda puts a kink in all my plans. But no worries, I’ll figure it out.

My bed on the train

My bed on the train

How I am planning my trip!

How I am planning my trip!

So I finally arrived in Bangkok and my buddy Dave came and got me from the train station. Dave was in Peace Corps Fiji with me and also met up with me in Sydney for a few days. He has a friend, Paula, living in Bangkok so I stayed with her and her husband, Albert. Bangkok is a HUGE, busy, loud, fast, polluted, and traffic jammed city- but the house where I was staying was a nice oasis in a quiet part of town. I was able to get in a few Insanity workouts while I was there in the private gym and went for a dip in the pool every night, plus Albert is a professional chef! Score!

Bangkok train station

Bangkok train station

This could be confusing.....

This could get interesting…..

The first day Dave and I went to the famous Chatuchak weekend market, the largest weekend market in the entire freaking world, no seriously, the entire world. It covers 35 acres and has 15,000 stalls selling everything from clothes to Thai handicrafts, to food to puppies! And the prices are ridiculously cheap. I could have spent weeks in here but Dave rescued me and only allowed 2 hours.

Stall selling handicrafts at Chatuchak

This is where I was first introduced to the heavenly treat called mango sticky rice. Quite possibly the most delicious thing I have ever eaten. It is sticky rice coated in sweet coconut milk, topped with fresh sliced mango and topped with more coconut milk. I swear while your eating it’s like your discovering ti for the first time with every bite. It’s unbelievable. I’ve had one everyday since discovering it….which may explain why my shorts are tighter than they should be.

The next day we went hunting for wats (wats are buddhist temples) but not before headed to Khao San Road, also known as the backpacker ghetto, to do a little shopping. Cheap accommodation, stores, food and street vendors selling you stuff. 

Backpacker Grotto

Backpacker Grotto

Afterwards we headed to go see Wat Pho where the famous reclining Buddha is and Wat Arun, the Temple of the dawn. And in one of the most random meet-ups of my life I ran into a girl I went to high school with! She is now living abroad and is in Thailand on vacation. Talk about a small world.

The face of the reclining Buddha.....it was huge.

The face of the reclining Buddha…..it was huge.

Temple of the Dawn

Temple of the Dawn

 

Random High School reunion

Random High School reunion

Have you seen The Hangover part 2? You know the red light district they visit that has all the strippers and ladyboys? Yeah, well I couldn’t come to Bangkok and not go visit it. Patpong, the infamous red light district in Bangkok is quite an interesting experience. It’s a short street with a street market selling watches and clothes in the middle and strip clubs and bars on the sides. Pretty insane. You walk in and little Thai men swarm around you trying to sell you on their bars and their girls. They show you a “menu” that lists all the things that the girls do: Ping pong, smoke a cigarette, and darts just to name a few (use your imagination). To tell you the truth I as expecting something a little bit more exciting, mostly the girls just looked bored and the bar scams you into spending 5x as much for your drinks as is listed. If you wanted to see some really crazy stuff you had to pay and I wasn’t THAT interested in it! However, if I was a 20 year old guy I probably would have loved it.

Patpong Alley

The rest of my time in Bangkok I just explored, either by walking, taking the metro, taking a tuk tuk, or my favorite, taking a boat taxi. But by the end of my time in Bangkok I was ready to get the hell out of there! The pollution is horrible and the traffic is unbelievable. I don’t know how anyone gets to work on time, a 30 minute trip took us well over 2 hours, The next leg of my Thailand journey is to head up north to Chiang Mai to work with the elephants. I convinced Dave to come with me and spend a few days, so stay tuned!

Boat Taxi

Boat Taxi

TukTuk!

TukTuk!

Responses

  1. As always, love reading your blog. These pictures are wonderful. Can’t wait to hear about this in person. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

