Posted by: Alicia Phillips | July 6, 2013

Yonder the Blue Mountains!

After I left my wwoof farm I had 4 days to kill before I head down to Melbourne. I was trying to decide between heading up to Hunter Valley to see wine country, or to visit the Blue Mountains and do some hiking. I talked to one of my friends who has been to both and she told me that i can go to vineyards all over the place, the blue mountains are only in Australia! So that decided it and I booked three night at the YHA in Katoomba in the Blue Mountain region of New South Wales.

My backpackers hostel

My backpackers hostel

The hostel was great! I shared a room with 4 other ladies and became pretty good friends with 2 girls. One girl is also going to Thailand in the near future and we are already planning on meeting up!

The hostel has a huge communal living area with couches and fire places, a large kitchen with every appliance you could possibly need to cook some serious meals, computer labs, TV rooms, pool tables, chess boards, hot water and shared bathrooms/showers on every floor. There are people from all over the world staying here! Just walking through the dining room you can distinctly hear at least 5 different languages being spoken. It’s great.

Why are the Blue mountains called the Blue Mountains you ask?

 DSCN3308

Because they really are blue!!!  They are densely populated by oil bearing Eucalyptus trees. The atmosphere is filled with finely dispersed droplets of oil, which, in combination with dust particles and water vapour, scatter short-wave length rays of light which are predominantly blue in color.  How about that?

I spent two days hiking around on all the trails. Really really gorgeous. Tons and tons of steps, walking up and down the mountain side. My legs are aching today but it was really beautiful and so worth it. See pictures below…..they seriously don’t do it justice.

 

DSCN3309 

Orphan Rock

Orphan Rock

DSCN3310DSCN3311

But the main attraction of the Blue Mountains are the Three Sisters. Three big rock formations that have a lot of Aborigine legends surrounding them. They are just gorgeous and are definitely worth the hike.

Three Sisters

Three Sisters

Scenic Sky Cable taking tourists across Jameson valley, with the Three Sisters in the background

Scenic Sky Cable taking tourists across Jameson valley, with the Three Sisters in the background

 

Me, looking ridiculous.

Me, looking ridiculous.

This was a cool place to spend the weekend. I made some friends, saw some pretty mountains, and got in a lot of good reading. But it’s freaking FREEZING up here. Time to get to where it’s warm for this island girl.

Responses

  1. So happy you are having a good time. I was impressed when we met you last year (over one year ago now), and continue to be so as I follow your adventures. Take care and continue enjoying!

  2. Love reading about your travels! Alicia, these posts have been absolutely wonderful. I’m definitely missing your presence here in Fiji, but so glad that you are enjoying your time so much traveling around! Keep being awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

