Posted by: Alicia Phillips | June 23, 2013

Sydney Mate!

So, I’m in Sydney. I flew in on Friday morning and meet Dave and Carol, some Peace Corps volunteers that left Fiji a few weeks before me and have been travelling all around Australia. They met me at the airport and we all went to our hostel together.

DSC05252

Our hostel is really cool. Huge kitchen, large balcony over looking the city, washer/dryer, clean rooms, its great. http://www.bouncehotel.com.au check it out if your ever in Sydney.

As soon as we checked in we went for a long walk. I felt like a little kid, after not leaving Fiji for two years I found myself amazed by all the tall building and stores and parks and street performers. After walking for what seemed like hours, we finally made our way down to the harbor and saw the Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Opera house. SO beautiful. We found a little pizza joint and ate pizza overlooking the harbor.

We made our way back to our hostel late that afternoon and stopped at a grocery store to buy some stuff for dinner. Now I had heard from former volunteers that going to a grocery store back home is a little overwhelming. I didn’t believe them at the time, but now I do. This grocery store we went into was 3 stories and jam packed with people. And there was so much stuff!! So many choices. My only job was to get a few tomatoes. No big deal, right? Wrong. In Fiji, you go to the market, only a select few vendors sell tomatoes, you buy a few and thats that. Not the case here, do I buy the big tomatoes or the small ones? The single ones or the ones that come in a bag? The ones still on a vine or ones off a vine? usually I’d go for the cheap ones but these were all cheap. I literally could not made a decision. I panicked a little bit and had to leave the store! Ha! Geez…..I’m going to steer clear of grocery stores for a while.

The next day it was rainy and cold. And I mean COLD! I haven’t been this cold in 2 years. It’s probably only in the high 50’s, but I’m freezing. Hopefully I will adapt soon. So we went to the Sydney Museum of Contemporary Art, it was pretty cool. Afterwards we jumped on a ferry that took us to Manly, a little suburb of Sydney that has a great beach and pretty big waves. While we were standing on the lookout watching all the surfers I looked out in the distance and saw a group of whales! SO freaking cool.

DSC05304

The second night we were there we got a hold of some cheap tickets and went and watched a show at the Sydney Opera house! It was the Sydney symphony and Dame Edna was narrating. Pretty sweet.

The Sydney Opera House

The Sydney Opera House

The next day it was raining all day so we went to another museum and then just walked around the CBD. Ran a few errands around then came back to our hostel in time for $2 burgers they have every Sunday night!

Overall I had a fantastic time in Sydney! It is so beautiful and big and clean and the people here have been so nice! However, its expensive and cold. And. even though it is only a 2 hour time difference from Fiji I still felt a little jet lag.  I’ve been falling asleep early and waking up before the sun (not a normal behavior for me)!

Tomorrow I will be heading up to the wwoof farm in Hunter Valley. Looking forward to working on the farm, learning about organic farming, and getting to know my wwoof hosts. Should be an exciting new adventure!! I’ll stay in touch!

Responses

  1. Good luck in everything. Sounds so cool!

  2. when in melbourne……check this out!

    Melbourne – Victoria Attractions: Places to vist (0-1 hour)

    1 St Kilda Beach & Ackland Street Breakfast on the beachfront or afternoon tea and sweets on Ackland St
    2 Fitzroy Garden Captain Cook’s Cottage and the miniature English Cottage
    3 Federation Square cafes and free stage events
    4 Flinders Lane cafes, quirky shopping, cupcake shops
    5 Fairfield Boat House paddle boats, café, walk on the bridge across the river and look back at the café’)
    6 Monstalvat Gallery & Café café , gallery and artists colony
    7 Eltham miniature railway fun for kids and adults, one of the largest railway tracks. Runs on Sundays only
    8 Yarraglen or Kangaroo Ground wineries and winery cafes. Red Box Winery (special wines!) and Sampson Hill Winery & Café (overlooking the city skyline)
    9 Port Melbourne stroll along the waterfront and beach, cafes
    10 Brunetti Café (Carlton) the original home of best coffee and dessert house in Melbourne! Not to be missed.
    11 Heidi Museum of Modern Art eclectic art gallery with a French Café plus grounds for kids to run around

    Around Victoria (1-3 hours away)

    12 Mt Dandenong & Olinda lookout, kids maze, cafes, craft shops, Devonshire tea
    13 Hanging Rock amazing rock formation and easy peezy mountain for kids to climb
    14 Peninsula Hot Springs great outdoor setting with numerous hot springs (child friendly)
    15 The Convent Gallery & Café (Daylesford) Daylesford answer to Monstalvat in Eltham
    16 Torquay nice beach and cool discounted surf clothing
    17 The 12 Apostles majestic land formation
    18 Echuca cafes, river cruises
    19 Anakie Fairy Park fairy themed kids part
    20 Adventure Park Geelong small and giant water slides
    21 Lakes Entrance beaches and cafes
    22 Sovereign Hill (Ballarat) gold fields, gallery and shows
    23 Flinders & Hastings nice peaceful seaside township with not so busy beaches. The region is full of boutique wineries.

  3. THIS IS SO AWESOME!!!! I envy you!! Keep the posts coming because I always get excited to see when you’ve updated your blog in my email!! Yay for you!

  4. It was great meeting you, Alicia. I look forward to your next adventure. Take care of yourself and have fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

